February 18, 2010

I’ve been training for the 1/2 marathon in Moab the last 5 weeks.  The race is on March 20.  So, I feel like I’m totally becoming a gym rat.  I have “friends” there- we never talk, but I see them almost everyday!  I feel like I need a week worth of work out clothes because of this.

This last week I have reached several milestones.

1. I ran 6 miles on Saturday.  I’m scheduled to run 7 this Saturday.  I feel very surprised by this.  I have never been a runner.  It is amazing how little victories and hard work can make this possible.  Suddenly I’m saying to myself, “Man, I can’t do 7 miles.  5, sure, but not 7!”  Then I realize I can run 5 miles and it sounds doable!That is a first!

2. I went to the gym twice today.  I’m behind on my schedule so I went twice.  Weird.

3.  Suddenly, I really like Metallica.  Mostly just the song No Leaf Clover. I listen to it every time I run- at least once.

4. Today I cried at the gym.  I felt like no one really noticed though- either I’m wiping sweat or tears, right?  I just can’t help it when I watch the Olympics; I get so emotional!

However, I’m still waiting for it to get “easier.”  I have a girlfriend who says she can go forever, but the first 3 miles are the hardest.  I think it’s all hard.  My body hurts everywhere almost every day. I respect long distance and full marathon runners so much!

4 Responses to “”

  1. stephanie said

    Yay Jill! Congrats on the awesome achievement!! I’m so glad I have people who are working out enough for me AND them. 🙂

  2. Samantha said

    Strong work Jill!!! Stick with it and you will see in no time that a 10 miler is cake and sounds fun, promise!

  3. Tawny said

    I’m SO proud of you!!! You’ll get it. 🙂

  4. Jill, that is so amazing!!! I suck at running and respect anyone that does it. I did it everyday on the stupid ship and it never got easier. I finally switched to the elliptical and it still sucked. I hate exercising. Keep going though. I am so proud of you!

Leave a Reply

