Italy

August 24, 2009

DSC_0195

The beautiful city of Florence at sunset.

DSC_0119

A closer look at the Arno River in Florence.

DSC_0111

What a great picture- my handsome husband on the Ponte Vecchio bridge.

DSC02353

The City of Certaldo.  We were only here for a few hours, but it left quite the impression.  To get the city, you must ride a follicular  up to the fortress.  The town was meticulously clean, with post-card beauty.

DSC_0225

Vernaza is a tiny town right on the Mediterranean in the north.   We didn’t spend much time here, but would recommend the Cinque Terre to anyone.

DSC_0061

Ah, the Colosseum.  It was so massive and truly impressive.

DSC_0050

The Colosseum was the first thing we saw in Italy.  We winded through a few neighborhoods… and there it was!

DSC_0315

The Vatican was my FAVORITE part of Rome.  I felt like I was going to faint from happiness the entire time!

DSC_0211

Before we reached Italy, I was terrified about long lines.  At the Vatican Museum, there was ONE person ahead of us.  We literally walked in (thank you random blogger that helped me plan our timing!!).   Inside, there were dozens of long halls PACKED with ancient art.  There was so much it was overwhelming!

DSC02244

Sadly, the Etruscan and Egyptian galleries were closed for the day.

DSC02242

DSC02303

We hiked to the top of St. Peter’s to see the view of the Vatican and Rome.  This is one of my favorite pictures.

DSC_0138

On top of Civita~ great views, once again.

DSC_0218

The best pizza I’ve ever tried was in Italy.  This is a nutella and creme pizza. Mmmm.

DSC_0231

This picture makes me so happy becuase it reminds me how I felt the entire trip.  Here I was, standing in front of this beautiful fresco I had learned about so many years ago, and had been aching to see.  It was very surreal at times.  I loved Italy, and I am so grateful I was able to go!

2 Responses to “Italy”

  1. emily said

    Oh – my – gosh……jill, i’m drueling with envy. those pictures are phenominal! you did such a great job. AH! SO JEALOUS – when do you want to go again? soon….mmm ok.

  2. h & s said

    Ok, so I totally stalked your blog from Amber’s…and it’s adorable! Love your pics from Italy!! Oh btw, yeah we’re still working on P90X…don’t judge it by how we look though – we’re still quite flabby ha ha 🙂

Leave a comment